Blog Post 8 – [The Pitch]

Things To Include in my pitch

• Introduce yourself and your production company
• Introduce your film idea –Talk though the synopsise idea discuss characters, plot, themes, Locations, Camera techniques, music
• Discuss your research-and what you have learnt from the focus group
• Discuss why Film Four should invest in your idea

My movie is based in 2006 in a city called Coventry where a group of teenagers move into their new house, where their next-door neighbour is a murderer, which they didn’t know about. They start to hear strange sounds coming from the neighbour’s house so both of the main characters decide to check out the neighbour’s house. My characters are

Oliver – He is an 18 year old male who plays for the football team he is also the school bully and doesn’t care what people think of him or what they tell him. He is brave and dumb when it comes to coming up with ideas.
Fred – He is an 17 year old male who is smart and caring he is the nerd in his class he loves to help people with their work and kind of scared of bad ideas that could get him told of by his parents or the police.
John- He is a 20 year old male who is friends with Oliver he is the guy who helps them break into the house and is not scared to do anything bad.
Steve- his is an 65 year old male who doesn’t like people breaking into his house he is also the murderer.
Shay- is a 16 year old male he was smart enough to not go into the house.

I learned from my focus group was a group of 8 people around the age group 16 to 18 years old there was 7 boys and one girl they were silent and only a few people in the group answered some questions. Some of the people in the group they said to put more detail into my story than the characters because the characters had more, they also liked my film idea one then my film idea 2 this is because I had more detail into my idea 1 than the second idea. This will help me with my next film idea in the future, because I will add more detail into the story and the characters. I need to improve asking more questions to the focus group this is because I didn’t write down any questions for them to answer, and tried to think about what to ask them. This ruined it because, the focus group took long to answer the questions and I needed to ask more questions in a fast like way. We did it twice the first one was the warm up and the second time was the real one, I did better on the second one because I added in more detail into both of my ideas and told them how I got the idea and where it would be set. I spoke more clearly than the first time I told the focus group my idea.

My letter to film 4:letter

My video pitch:

Leave a Reply

